CLASSIC ROCKERS FINISH

Yes. I haven’t been on WordPress lately. Be it because of stress from work and other elements outside it, I’m not in the purpose to give an excuse to why I have not been sharing my thougts online recently. I guess I’m too drained to even compose a full blog. Gah.

So between my previous post and this new one are Aaron Kelly, Big Mike, and Casey James. A good three weeks, yeah? The most recent post I created was about siobhan Magnus’ elimination, and now I’m online to share my thoughts about this season’s American Idol, especially now that it’s about to come to it’s finale. IMAGINE, I even forgot to blog about my 23rd Birthday. WordPress didn’t even get to know about how sparks and stars welcomed a new last May 1st. Oh well. I’ll just create a separate one for that.

 

SEASON FRONT RUNNERS FINISH LAST

Top 4 Performance Night: Songs from the Cinemas

Lee and Crystal duet –

Falling Slowly by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova (Once)

Since Day 1, yes, since Lee did Chasing Cars, and Crystal did Hand In My Pocket, I knew, I knew that they were gonna be the last ones standing in their category (male, female). Originally I was feeling and rooting for this order: Crystal (Season Winner), Siobhan (Runner-Up), and Lee (2nd Runner-Up, Last One Standing for the BOYS), Didi (Top 4), Big Mike (Top 5), and Aaron (my favorite boy, Top 6). It was heartbreaking to see Didi Benami leave too soon and surprising that Siobhan, as I also kinda deniably predicted, ended up as Top 6.

LEE DEWYZE

A week prior to Siobhan’s elimination, Lee did Simon and Garfunkel’s The Boxer (for Inspirational Songs Week) and 2 weeks earlier than that, he did Hey Jude (for The Beatles night). In those earlier weeks, I knew, and right after Siobhan started singing Through The Fire, it’s gonna be Lee for the win… to fight Crystal. (Mindset: Crystal = WINNER).

On their last night as finalists, I’m glad he had chosen to ‘redo’ The Boxer on the Idol stage as it has got to be his best to date, well, I also liked his take on Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah, but he just sang it a week ago, so best he went for this song below:

Lee Dewyze, Final Performance, a ‘redo’ of THE BOXER

Trust me, this is indeed his signature song already. I was touched by his homecoming-to-Chicago performance of this one and then the camera pans to his Dad singing from the audience. La la la la…

 

CRYSTAL BOWERSOX

I’ve never seen a female contestant so perfect, so powerful since Season 4 Winner Carrie Underwood on the American Idol stage. Crystal Bowersox’s originality, vocal range, and authenticity rule the show. Really, since Week 2 to the Semis when she did the Gospel song Long As I Can See The Light, I knew, she’s the girl they thought would win this time. Week 1 into the finals, she might have been beaten by Siobhan Magnus who did Paint It Black, but came Week 2, it was the ressurection of the female champ as she did Janis Joplin’s Me And Bobby McGee which has got to be my favorite Crystal performance ever. OR NOT. There’s Gladys Knight’s Midnight Train To Georgia (R&B), Come Together (The Beatles), The Impressions’ People Get Ready which made me cry (Inspirational Week), and Sir Paul McCartney’s Maybe I’m Amazed and one of my favorite songs ever, Melissa Etheridge’s Come To My Window (Top 3).  Obviously, I have so much love for this Rocker Mama. Although, let’s give it to them, one of the most memorable performances of the season has got to be her duet with Lee Dewyze on Songs from the Cinema Week, the Oscar-winning song from the film Once, Falling Slowly. That took my breath from me. Tonight, my wish came true, Crystal ‘redoing’ my favorite performance of hers in the entire season- Me And Bobby McGee, although her Top 11 performance of this is way better, but hey, she’s an artist.

***

I think this is going to be the first Season where I’m gonna say, it’s anybody’s game, and whoever wins, we win, I win. Seriously. And I’m really excited despite the downfalls of this season which I don’t want to get into details with. American Idol Season 9 ends, and we commend the man who’s been there, discovering talents, simon Cowell, we’ll see you soon… on another program. God bless American Idol!

~ by ardenkhan on 27/05/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
